1. Anderson Silva:
Anderson Silva is widely regarded as one of the greatest fighters in UFC history. He held the middleweight title from 2006 to 2013 and defended it a record 10 times. Silva’s remarkable striking skills, unorthodox style, and ability to finish fights with devastating precision made him a dominant force in the octagon.

2. Georges St-Pierre:
Georges St-Pierre, often referred to as GSP, is considered one of the most well-rounded fighters in MMA history. He held the welterweight title for an extended period, from 2006 to 2007 and 2008 to 2013, with a total of nine title defenses. St-Pierre’s strategic approach, exceptional wrestling, and disciplined training made him nearly unbeatable during his prime.

3. Jon Jones:
Jon “Bones” Jones is a polarizing figure but an undeniably talented fighter. Holding the light heavyweight title from 2011 to 2015 and 2018 to 2020, Jones has the record for the most wins in title fights at 14. His reach advantage, creative striking, and impressive grappling skills have earned him the reputation as one of the most dominant fighters in UFC history.

4. Demetrious Johnson:
Demetrious “Mighty Mouse” Johnson made history as the inaugural UFC flyweight champion and held the title from 2012 to 2018. Known for his lightning-fast speed, technical skills, and exceptional footwork, Johnson successfully defended his title 11 times, showcasing his dominance in the division.

5. Khabib Nurmagomedov:
Khabib Nurmagomedov, hailing from Dagestan, Russia, left an indelible mark on the lightweight division. Holding the title from 2018 to 2020, Nurmagomedov showcased his relentless grappling skills and superior ground control. With an undefeated record of 29-0, including wins over top contenders, Khabib retired as one of the most dominant champions in UFC history.

6. Chuck Liddell:
Chuck “The Iceman” Liddell played a pivotal role in popularizing the sport of MMA. Holding the light heavyweight title from 2005 to 2007, Liddell became known for his knockout power and aggressive fighting style. His exciting battles and charismatic personality helped bring the UFC into the mainstream.

7. Jose Aldo:
Jose Aldo, a Brazilian fighter, ruled the featherweight division for nearly a decade. Holding the title from 2009 to 2015, Aldo showcased his exceptional striking skills and takedown defense. With an impressive record of 18 consecutive wins, Aldo is regarded as one of the best featherweights of all time.

8. Amanda Nunes:
Amanda Nunes is a dominant force in women’s MMA. Holding both the bantamweight and featherweight titles, Nunes has defeated several high-profile fighters, including Ronda Rousey and Cris Cyborg. Her combination of knockout power, technical skills, and well-rounded game has solidified her status as one of the greatest female fighters in UFC history.

9. Matt Hughes:
Matt Hughes is often considered one of the pioneers of modern-day MMA. Holding the welterweight title from 2001 to 2004 and 2004 to 2006, Hughes was known for his exceptional wrestling and ground-and-pound style. He defended his title successfully multiple times and played a crucial role in popularizing the sport.

10. Randy Couture:
Randy Couture is a legend in the UFC and one of the few fighters to win titles in multiple weight classes. Holding the heavyweight title three times and the light heavyweight title twice, Couture’s versatility and longevity in the sport are remarkable. Known for his strong wrestling and clinch work, Couture defeated some of the biggest names in MMA during his career, including Chuck Liddell and Tito Ortiz.


These ten fighters have left an indelible mark on the sport of MMA and the UFC in particular. Their achievements, skills, and dominance inside the octagon have solidified their places among the greatest champions in UFC history.

It’s important to note that creating a definitive list of the greatest UFC champions is subjective, as there have been numerous other exceptional fighters who have held titles and achieved remarkable success. Fighters like Ronda Rousey, Conor McGregor, Fedor Emelianenko, and many others have made significant contributions to the sport and could also be included in discussions about the greatest champions.

The UFC continues to evolve, and new champions are crowned regularly. As the sport progresses, future fighters may join the ranks of the all-time greats, adding to the legacy of the UFC and the champions who have left an indelible mark on the sport.

In conclusion, the ten fighters discussed above have showcased their skills, dominance, and longevity in the UFC. Each one has contributed to the growth and popularity of MMA, leaving an unforgettable legacy. Whether it’s Anderson Silva’s precision striking, Georges St-Pierre’s well-roundedness, or Khabib Nurmagomedov’s grappling dominance, these champions have solidified their places among the greatest of all time in the UFC.