The Charlotte Town P.E.I. product, Jason Saggo 8-1 is one of Canada’s top ranked lightweights. Saggo is a finisher, all of his victories have come before the 15 minute mark. He has 7 submission wins and 1 TKO, his sole loss was a split decision against Jesse Ronson 12-2 who just happens to be fighting for the AFC Lightweight title July 5th in Edmonton Alberta versus current champion Shane Campbell 8-1. This also is the same card Saggo will be making his AFC debut on. He is stepping up on 3 weeks notice to take on former AFC champion Stephen Beaumont 7-1.

“The winner of this fight will be seriously looked at, as to who next deserves a shot at the Lightweight title” Stated AFC matchmaker Darren Owen. “Beaumont’s original opponent Brandt Dewsbery had to pull out due to an injury. Saggo stepped up and asked for this fight and has expressed interest in fighting any top Canadian Lightweight out there. We absolutely love when fighters want to challenge themselves and fight the best. Saggo and Beaumont are those type of guys.”

Here’s what Saggo said about his signing, “I am very happy to have signed a 3 fight deal with the AFC. I believe they are the largest, most successful organization for MMA in Canada. They have top tier talent in my weight division and I’m looking forward to the challenge!” His prediction for his upcoming fight, “I’m looking to finish the fight whether it’s by KO or submission. I never want my fights to go to the judge’s decision.”

This marquee matchup will take place on the main card of AFC 19 July 5th at the Shaw Conference Centre in Edmonton Alberta. A decisive win by either fighter may grant them the next shot at the AFC Lightweight title belt.

More information and the online PPV link is located at

Tickets are available online through or by calling 780-426-SOLD.

Pro Fights:

170lbs- Ryan Ford (20-4) vs. Michael Hill (5-1) *Title Fight

155lbs- Shane Campbell (8-1) vs. Jesse Ronson (12-2) *Title Fight

205lbs- Victor Valimaki (17-8) vs. Dwayne Lewis (12-8)

155lbs- Stephen Beaumont (7-1) vs. Jason Saggo (8-1)

265lbs- Tim Hague (15-7) vs. Kalib Starnes (13-8-1)

185lbs- KB Bhullar (3-0) vs. Derek Parker (3-1-1)

185lbs- Sheldon Westcott (8-1-1) vs. Thomas Ide (15-7)

200lbs- Teddy Ash (2-0) vs. Denny Houle (4-0)

170lbs- Marcus Vinicios (5-7) vs. TBA

170lbs- Aaron Bosiak (0-0) vs. Travis Cloud (1-0)

135lbs- Ben Jansen (2-0) vs. Radley da Silva (0-0)

170lbs- Steve Dubeck (4-6) vs. Marcus Hicks (15-22)

Leave a Reply