Last night, Pro MMA Now reporter Brian Furby and co-host of The Cageside Beat, Mike Menninger, were on hand to cover the first amateur MMA event ever hosted by the Arnold Sports Festival. The card featured sixteen fights, three of which were title fights. Some MMA celebrities were on hand to witness the action including Randy Couture, former professional wrester Kurt Angle, UFC matchmaker Joe Silva, and WEC General Manager Reed Harris.

The whole card featured some great action – here are the full results, and our picks for the “Of the Night” honors. Disclaimer: All name spellings come from the card given to us by the promotion – any errors are theirs.

Christian Johnson vs. Ozem Ellis – Christian Johnson wins via Unanimous Decision

Mike Hazzard vs. Tim Davis – Tim Davis wins via Unanimous Decision

A.J. Reece vs. Matt Montgomery – Matt Montgomery wins via armbar at 1:29 in Round 2.

Matt Perry vs. John Luge – John Luge wins via rear naked choke in the second minute of Round 2.

Jeremy Johnson vs. James Dishong – James Dishong wins via KO at 1:07 of Round 1.

Chad Booth vs. Matt Taylor – Matt Taylor wins via standing guillotine at 2:28 of Round 2.

Dan Haubiel vs. Mark Crawn – Mark Crawn defeats Dan Haubiel via TKO (strikes) at 1:31 in Round 1.

Al Alo vs. Chris Mierzwiak – Chris Mierzwiak wins via rear naked choke at 2:29 in Round 1.

Sam Kinker vs. Raymond Yanez – Raymond Yanez wins via Unanimous Decision

Brett Lowery vs. Ben Cook – Ben Cook wins via TKO at 1:31 in Round 3.

Terrel Crawford vs. Michael Krick – Michael Krick wins via verbal submission (injury) at 2:41 in Round 2.

Trent McCown vs. Tim McCavit – Trent McCown wins via KO at 1:51 in Round 1.

Yancey Martin vs. Bryce Jackson – Yancey Martin wins via triangle choke at 1:36 in Round 1.

Jeremy Meyers vs. Cornelius Godfry – Jeremy Meyers wins via Split Decision, winning the vacant Bantamweight title.

Brandon Demastes vs. Brandon Suber – Brandon Suber wins via Unanimous Decision, winning the vacant Lightweight title.

JP Felty vs. Jake Kuhner – Jake Kuhner wins via KO at 2:22 in Round 1, winning the vacant welterweight title.

KO of the Night: Trent McCown over Tim McCavit – McCown was all business in his KO win over McCavit. McCavit came out strong, but McCown’s power was too much to handle as he caught McCavit with a counter-right hook to end the fight early in the first.

Submission of the Night: Yancey Martin over Bryce Jackson – Martin came out strong, landing some good leg kicks before Jackson caught one of the kicks and took Martin down. After a failed armbar attempt by Martin, another exchange on the feet and return to the ground, Martin was able to secure a triangle choke that saw Jackson not tap out before he passed out.

Fight of the Night: Jeremy Meyers and Cornelius Godfrey – In a fight that saw three rounds of high-octane action, Meyers and Godfrey exchanged both on the feet and on the ground throughout the entire fight. Both fighters were able to enjoy some success in both areas, with Meyers eventually winning the split decision. Brian and Mike had their unofficial score as 29-28 Godfrey, but both fighters put on excellent performances that had the crowd on their feet through nearly the entire fight.

Make sure to check back here on Pro MMA Now in the coming days for our photo gallery from the event.

By: Brian Furby

2 thoughts on “Pro MMA Now 2010 Arnold Sports Festival Amateur MMA Festival results”

Leave a Reply