Thursday, August 21, 2014
You are here: Home » press release » Ryan “The Kid” McGillivray is Edmonton’s MMA fighter of the year

Ryan “The Kid” McGillivray is Edmonton’s MMA fighter of the year

MFC welterweight title challenger Ryan McGillivray was named co-winner of the EdmontonCombat Sports Commission’s MMA Fighter of the Year award at the organization’s annual gala on March 20th.

“The Kid” was most gracious in accepting the award, in particular thanking his family for their continual support. McGillivray’s father Kevin is his main trainer, and the duo own Legends Training Centre inEdmonton,Alberta.

McGillivray (12-5-1) will take on Nathan “Soul Force” Coy (10-4) for the MFC’s 170-pound division championship on Friday, May 4 at the Mayfield Conference Centre in Edmonton. The main event highlights an action-packed card that will air live on HDNet Fights beginning at 10 p.m. ET/8 p.m. MT/7 p.m. PT (check local listings for channel designation).

McGillivray jumped into the spotlight in 2011, appearing on Season 13 of the TUF reality series and advancing to the quarter-finals of the tournament while representing Team Dos Santos. The 25-year-old returned to the Maximum Fighting Championship for MFC 32: Bitter Rivals, and scored a stunning third-round submission victory over Diego Bautista to earn his shot at the title.

Edmonton’s MMA Fighter of the Year award was originally handed out in 2006 to former MFC talent Jason “The Athlete” MacDonald.

Onnit Medium Light Roast Coffee
Scroll To Top