demetrious johnsonThe UFC on FOX 8 event took place tonight at the Key Arena in Seattle, Washington. The main event saw Demetrious Johnson defend his flyweight title with a dominant fifth round submission victory over John Moraga.

The co-main event saw Rory MacDonald outclass Jake Ellenberger to win via unanimous decision. However, there were four fighters that earned bonus money at the event.

Demetrious Johnson earned the “Submission of the Night” bonus for his armbar win over Moraga. Johnson was up four rounds to none and had the fight in hand when he transitioned to the armbar after going for a kimura attempt to put Moraga away in the final round.

Melvin Guillard saved his UFC career and won the “KO of the Night” bonus with a second round KO win over Mac Danzig. Guillard landed a left hook that dropped Danzig in the second round, and followed that punch up with some devastating hammer fists to force the referee to bring a halt to the bout.

Ed Herman and Trevor Smith earned the “Fight of the Night” bonus on the preliminary section of the event. Both fighters landed tons of significant strikes in a back and forth war of attrition. However, it was Herman who earned the nod on the judges scorecard to win the split decision.

Stay tuned to for more UFC on FOX 8 news and coverage.

Leave a Reply