LAS VEGAS – UFC Hall of Famer Randy Couture and Versus reporter Molly Qerim will host tonight’s 2010 World MMA Awards at The Pearl at The Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas. The event will air LIVE right here in the video player below and on starting at 10:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. PT and will replay on the Versus cable television station Dec. 9, at 10 p.m. ET/PT. will post the winners of each category tonight LIVE as they are announced. Feel free to chime in with your thoughts on the nominees and winners, as well as who you think should have won or maybe should have been nominated that was not on the list.

This is the one night of the year the entire mixed martial arts industry comes together to recognize those individuals who have helped, and continue to help push this sport into the mainstream and who are helping take it to the next level. And for 2010, the nominees are…

The Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter of the Year

  • Anderson Silva
  • Brock Lesnar
  • Frankie Edgar
  • Jose Aldo
  • Mauricio Rua

WINNER: Jose Aldo

Fight of the Year

  • Anderson Silva vs Chael Sonnen, UFC 117
  • Brock Lesnar vs Shane Carwin, UFC 116
  • Chan Sung Jung vs Leonard Garcia, WEC 48
  • Chris Leben vs Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
  • Jorge Santiago vs Kazuo Misaki, Sengoku 14

WINNER: Anderson Silva vs Chael Sonnen, UFC 117

KO of the Year

  • Anthony Njokuani vs Chris Horodecki, WEC 45
  • Cain Velasquez vs Antonio Nogueira, UFC 110
  • Lyoto Machida vs Mauricio Rua, UFC 113
  • Mike Russow vs Todd Duffee, UFC 114
  • Rich Franklin vs Chuck Liddell, UFC 115

WINNER: Mauricio “Shogun” Rua’s KO of Lyoto Machida at UFC 113

Submission of the Year

  • Matt Hughes vs Ricardo Almeida, UFC 117
  • Chris Leben vs Yoshihiro Akiyama, UFC 116
  • Cole Miller vs Dan Lauzon, UFC 108
  • Anderson Silva vs Chael Sonnen, UFC 117
  • Fabricio Werdum vs Fedor Emelianenko

WINNER: Fabricio Werdum vs Fedor Emelianenko

Best Promotion

  • Bellator
  • Strikeforce
  • UFC
  • WEC


Leading Man of the Year

  • Bjorn Rebney
  • Dana White
  • Joe Silva
  • Michael Schiavello
  • Scott Coker

WINNER: Dana White

International Fighter of the Year

  • Alistair Overeem
  • Dan Hardy
  • George Sotiropoulos
  • John Hathaway
  • Shinya Aoki
  • Sponsored by:

WINNER: Alistair Overeem

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

  • Charles Oliveira
  • Evan Dunham
  • George Sotiropoulos
  • John Hathaway
  • Jon Jones

WINNER: Jon Jones

Female Fighter of the Year

  • Cristiane Santos
  • Megumi Fujii
  • Miesha Tate
  • Sarah Kaufman
  • Zoila Frausto

WINNER: Christiane Santos

Coach of the Year

  • Cesar Gracie
  • Firas Zahabi
  • Greg Jackson
  • Rafael Cordeiro
  • Shawn Tompkins

WINNER: Greg Jackson

Gym of the Year

  • AKA
  • American Top Team
  • Black House
  • Greg Jackson
  • Wand Fight Team

WINNER: Wand Fight Team

Ring Girl of the Year

  • Arianny Celeste
  • Brittney Palmer
  • Chandella Powell
  • Natalie Skyy
  • Rachelle Leah

WINNER: Arianny Celeste

Best Lifestyle Clothing Brand

  • Affliction
  • FightChix
  • RVCA
  • Silver Star
  • TapouT

WINNER: Tapout

Referee of the Year

  • John McCarthy
  • Dan Miragliotta
  • Herb Dean
  • Josh Rosenthal
  • Mario Yamasaki

WINNER: Herb Dean

Most Memorable Ring Entrance

  • Anderson Silva
  • Clay Guida
  • Jason Miller
  • King ‘Mo’ Lawal
  • Tom Lawlor

WINNER: Jason Miller

Best Technical Equipment Brand

  • Everlast
  • Fairtex
  • Hayabusa
  • TapouT
  • Venum

WINNER: Everlast

Best Technical Clothing Brand

  • Bad Boy
  • Hayabusa
  • Jaco
  • TapouT
  • Venum


Media Source of the Year

  • Inside MMA
  • MMA Junkie
  • MMA Weekly
  • Sherdog


MMA Journalist of the Year

  • Aaron Teweles
  • Ariel Helwani
  • Conner Cordova
  • Gareth A Davies
  • John Morgan

WINNER: Ariel Helwani

4 thoughts on “2010 World MMA Awards – LIVE video and updates”

Leave a Reply