It took just a minute and twenty-three seconds for Lyman Good to defeat Omar De La Cruz with heavy punches, improve his record to 10-0, stake his claim as the very first Bellator Welterweight Champion, and pocket himself a cool $100,000 in the process.

“Bellator XI” took place Friday, June 12 at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.. To make it to the finals, Good defeated Hector Urbina at “Bellator II” and Jorge Ortiz at “Bellator VI.” He won three fights in three months during the twelve week inaugural Bellator tournament season.

The final event for the 2009 season, “Bellator XII,” takes place next Friday, June 19, at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Hollywood, Fla. and will feature the Bellator Lightweight and Middleweight Championship bouts.

Here are the full results from “Bellator XI:”

David Branch def. Dennis Olsen via rear naked choke rd1 (2:27)
Jimmie Rivera def. Nick Garcia via unanimous decision
Uriah Hall def. Edwin Aguilar via TKO (strikes) rd3 (4:31)
Nick Pace def. Collin Tebo via TKO (strikes) rd1 (1:37)
Vagner Rocha def. Igor Gracie via unanimous decision
Justin Torrey def. Matt Makowski via unanimous decision
Jake Ellenberger def. Marcelo Alfaya via KO (punch) rd1 (0:42)
Bellator Welterweight Championship
Lyman Good def. Omar De La Cruz via TKO (punches) rd1 (1:23)

Leave a Reply