Jon Jones wins “Fighter of the Year” at the 2011 World MMA Awards – full results

LAS VEGAS — UFC light heavyweight champion Jon “Bones” Jones took home the highly-coveted “Fighter of the Year” award Wednesday night at the Fighters Only 2011 World MMA Awards at the Pearl at the Palms Casino Resort in Las Vegas.

Jones was up against the stiff competition of Anderson Silva, Dan Henderson, Nick Diaz and Dominick Cruz for the award, but his dominant stoppage wins over Ryan Bader, Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and  Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, all in 2011, secured him top honors.

Other notable winners of the night included Anderson Silva for “KO of the Year” for his front kick knockout of Vitor Belfort at UFC 126 in February, and Chan Sung Jung for his Twister submission of Leonard Garcia at UFC Fight Night 24 in March.

The complete results are as follows…

  • International Fighter of the Year: Alistair Overeem
  • Gym of the Year: Black House
  • Referee of the Year: Herb Dean
  • Comeback of the Year: Cheick Kongo
  • Best Technical Equipment: Everlast
  • Journalist of the Year: Ariel Helwani
  • Coach of the Year: Greg Jackson
  • Best Lifestyle Clothing: TapouT
  • Promotion of the Year: UFC
  • Media Source of the Year:
  • Best Technical Clothing: Bad Boy
  • Personality of the Year: Joe Rogan
  • Female Fighter of the Year: Miesha Tate
  • Entrance of the Year: Jason “Mayhem” Miller
  • Breakthrough Fighter of the Year: Donald Cerrone
  • Submission of the Year: Chan Sung Jung (def. Leonard Garcia via Twister/Spine Crank)
  • Ring Girl of the Year: Arianny Celeste
  • Leading Man of the Year: Dana White
  • KO of the Year: Anderson Silva (def. Vitor Belfort via front kick)
  • Fight of the Year: Edgar vs. Maynard at UFC 125
  • Fighter of the Year: Jon Jones
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Winner: Shawn Tompkins
Please like & share: